To protect you from abuse or harmful content, Bitly will block a link when it is flagged as suspect or known to lead to a malicious page.
There are many reasons why we might investigate a link.
- A Bitly user or a blocklisting service has reported a problem with the destination page.
- Bitly has detected potentially malicious or inappropriate content.
- The destination link is hidden behind a link shortened through another service.
- The link may lead to a forgery of another website.
When you encounter our warning page, we recommend you close your browser window and notify the person who sent you the link.
If you feel a link you've encountered should not be blocked, let us know. We'll look into it.