In April, 2019, Bitly launched three new paid subscription plans to supplement our free and Enterprise account offerings. The details of each plan are available on our plan page.
We’ve compiled these questions to help customers who already had Bitly accounts understand the changes:
What are the new subscription plans?
The new plans are Free, Basic, Pro, Company, and Enterprise. As you upgrade, each plan includes more features and higher link limits. Some of the premium features include:
- Redirecting links to another destination
- Exporting reports for your link data
- Organizing links into campaigns
- Importing links in bulk and adding UTM parameters
How do the changes affect existing free accounts?
The new Free plan and our lower paid plans have lower monthly limits than those of our old free account, and customers with free Bitly accounts will have their link limits decreased in 2019. We will email dates and further details to accounts affected by this change.
You can check your current link usage and limits by signing in to your account, selecting your group, and clicking Manage.
Why did Bitly add new paid plans?
Many of our customers told us they would like to have advanced features at an affordable price. Up until recently, all premium features were only offered in an Enterprise plan for larger brands.
By creating subscription tiers, we’re giving the entrepreneurs and smaller brands relying on Bitly a way to choose a plan that’s right for them. This gives you access to more features, higher link limits, and room to upgrade as your business grows.
How do the new Bitly subscriptions work?
Customers with a free Bitly account now have the opportunity to upgrade to different tiers of paid plans as a monthly subscription. When you upgrade to a higher subscription plan, you will have access to more features. You can see what’s included with each plan on our plan page.
How do I upgrade or lower my plan?
You can upgrade and lower your plan at any time by logging into your account, choosing an option on the Upgrade page, and entering your credit card information. For Company and Enterprise plans, contact us to customize a plan to fit your needs.
How do the changes affect existing customers with Enterprise accounts?
Enterprise accounts are not affected by the new plans.
How will Bitly bill for the new plans?
Bitly will charge your credit card once a month starting on the day you upgrade your account. You can cancel at any time and continue using Bitly for the remainder of the current billing period. You cannot receive a refund for any unused portion of your subscription.
Is there an annual subscription?
Bitly only offers month-to-month subscription options for most plans. For Company and Enterprise plans, you can contact us to discuss customized contracts and payment options.
Is there a free trial?
We do not offer a free trial, but you can cancel your month-to-month subscription at any time and continue using Bitly for the remainder of the current billing period. You cannot receive a refund for any unused portion of your subscription.
Will customers with free accounts lose data?
The number of links you can create each month will be reduced in 2019 unless you upgrade to a higher paid plan, but you will not lose any existing data when the new plans take effect. You will receive an email from Bitly explaining how long you can continue using your old free account limits.
Can customers with a free account upgrade to a new plan?
Yes, you can subscribe to a new plan from the Subscription page in your account. Be aware that the new Free plan and lower paid plans have lower monthly limits than your old free account. You will receive an email from Bitly explaining how long you can continue using your old free account limits.
If you choose to upgrade, you can later lower your plan to the new Free plan will not have the old free account limits. You can later lower your account to the new Free plan, but the limits are lower than the previously available free account.
Which features and limits are available with each subscription plan?
Each plan upgrade includes additional features and limits. The full details are available on our plan page.
Will Bitly continue to offer a free account?
Yes, we will continue to offer a free account option under the Free plan. This account has lower monthly link limits than the old free account.
Will Bitly issue a refund if I upgrade and then change my mind?
As per our terms of service, Bitly does not issue refunds. You can cancel at any time and continue using Bitly for the remainder of the billing period. You will not receive a refund for any unused portion of your subscription.
Can I pay by check or other forms of payment?
Bitly charges by credit card on a monthly basis for most plans. For Company and Enterprise plans, contact us to discuss customized plan and payment options.
I haven’t been using Bitly. Can I delete my account?
Yes, but keep in mind that all of your data will be permanently deleted. Check out this help article to learn how to delete your account.